Dear Sassy

Dear Sassy,

I love the punk/rocker looks that I have been seeing around lately, but am not sure how to go about getting this look without going overboard. None of my friends really dress like that, so I am afraid that they might think I am weird for trying something new. How can I incorporate some more spunk and edge into my wardrobe without looking like I am trying to hard?

Sincerely,

Seeing Studs

Dear Seeing Studs,

It is great that you want to try new things with your style! You should not let your friends, or anybody tell you what you should or shouldn’t wear. First, if you want to go for the rocker chick look you have to wear some leather of course! Leather will immediately give a dress or a pants-top combo a harder feel. A pair of ripped jeans will definitely give you a more punk vibe as well. If paired with softer draped and cut clothes, the look will have a hint of edge without being overboard. Some leather and studded accessories would help accentuate your look as well. If you want to make sure you don’t look over the top, don’t wear all of these things together in one outfit. Take it from Rihanna; she has completely transformed her style within the last few years. Formerly wearing mini-shirts and sparkly jewelry, she now wears powerful high heeled boots and studded dresses. My best advice would be to ease into this new style by throwing on an edgy accessory with your everyday outfit. As time goes by add more and more punk into your style, so your change is gradual. Good luck rockin’ your new look!

Love always,

Sassy

