SF Style Shot – Fashionable Students of SFSU

Name: Robert Rodgers
Major: Print/Online Journalism

Where did you buy your outfit?
Maroon Blazer: Buffalo Exchange
White Dress Shirt: Macy’s
Tie: Goodwill
Brown Dress Shoes and Tie Pin: Salvation Army
White Suspenders: 23 Skidoo in Campbell, CA
What inspires your style?
I’m very much inspired by vintage fashion that I encounter in old films and contemporary period pieces. As much as I love to accumulate new clothes, I try to keep in mind what Thoreau said about frivolous clothing collection: β€œperhaps we are led oftener by the love of novelty and a regard for the opinions of men, in procuring it, than by a true utility. Let him who has work to do recollect that the object of clothing is, first, to retain the vital heat, and secondly, in this state of society, to cover nakedness, and he may judge how much of any necessary or important work may be accomplished without adding to his wardrobe.”
Who is your style icon?
I’d say its a four way tie between Iggy Pop, Jon Hamm from Mad Men, Lou Reed, and Johnny Cash.

Name: Brittany Thrash
Major: Psychology

Where did you buy your outfit?
Necklace, Belt, and Tank: a boutique from my hometown
Jeans: Forever 21
Cardigan and Leopard Print Flats: Target
What inspires your style?
Pretty and romantic things inspire my style. I always dress comfortably and go for classic things that I can wear over and over.
Who is your style icon?
Probably Rachel Bilson.

